Close this search box.

UJ scholars honoured as Members of South Africa’s Academy of Science

Two academics from the University of Johannesburg (UJ) were among the 38 leading scholars and scientists inaugurated as Members of the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) at the annual Awards Ceremony on 9 November 2023.

Umesh Ramnarain is a Professor in science education and Head of Department in Science and Technology Education at UJ. He is a renowned researcher in the field of science education, with a particular focus on teacher education, curriculum development, and assessment. He is also a passionate advocate for inclusive and equitable science education for all learners.

Professor Salim Vally is the DHET-NRF SARChI Chair in Community, Adult and Workers’ Education based at the Faculty of Education, UJ, and a visiting professor at Nelson Mandela University. He is a leading expert in the field of adult education, with a particular focus on community education, workers’ education, and social justice. He is also a public intellectual and social activist who is committed to using education to transform society.

Their election to ASSAf is a testament to their outstanding scholarly achievements and their contributions to South African society.

Share this

Latest News

All News