Close this search box.

Four UJ academics inaugurated as members of the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf)

​On Wednesday, 9 October 2019, four University of Johannesburg (UJ) academics who lead various portfolios in the University were inaugurated as members of the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) at the Academy’s annual awards ceremony.

The new UJ members include Prof James Darkwa (a Visiting Professor in the Department of Chemistry and a Lead Researcher for Specialty Chemicals at the Botswana Institute for Technology Research and Innovation, Gaborone, Botswana); Prof Letlhokwa Mpedi (the Executive Dean of the Faculty of Law at and the Director at the Centre for International and Comparative Labour and Social Security Law at the same institution); and Prof Saurabh Sinha (the Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Research and Internationalisation).

Prof Mzukisi Njotini (an Associate Professor in the Faculty of Law), was inaugurated as a member of the South African Young Academy of Science (SAYAS) at the same ceremony.

The core function of any national science academy is to honour and recognise the country’s most outstanding and celebrated scholars by electing them to Membership of the Academy. ASSAf Members are drawn from the full discipline spectrum. In 2017/2018, ASSAf had 542 Members drawn by self-categorisation from 11 categories. ASSAf is self-perpetuating and new Members are elected annually.” More information on this prestigious academy is available on

Share this