UJ bestows 2020/2021 Ellen Kuzwayo and Alumni Dignitas awards

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]A civil servant and novelist, a social worker and a human rights and community-based activist were acknowledged by the Council of the University of Johannesburg (UJ), with the Ellen Kuzwayo Award, for their outstanding contribution to the higher education sector on Friday, 01 April 2021.

The Council of the University annually bestows this award to individuals who, in the estimation of the Council, demonstrate sustained and exceptional contributions beyond the confines of teaching and research.

“These individuals, over an extended period of time, promoted the well-being of the higher education sector, as well as the well-being of society in respect of matters in which the University has a particular interest,” said Mr Mike Teke, the Chairperson of UJ Council. Mr Teke added that due to the COVID-19 restrictions, the University was unable to honour the 2020 Ellen Kuzwayo Council recipient and is thus recognising the 2020 recipient with the 2021 cohort.

The 2020 edition of the Ellen Kuzwayo Council Award was presented to Dr Sindiwe Magona  for her excellence and contribution to the literature.

The 2021 Ellen Kuzwayo Council Award recipients are Ms Ela Gandhi  and Ms Deborah Terhune. Ms Gandhi was recognised for her outstanding work as a human rights and community-based activist, and Ms Terhune for her unwavering commitment and contribution to youth and community development.

At the same event, The University bestowed the Dignitas Award to recognise the contributions of its alumni to UJ’s growth and advancement.

The 2020 Dignitas Award recipients were Ms Funeka Montjane  and Mr Len Wolman.

Ms Montjane was recognised for her contribution to women empowerment and community upliftment, and Mr Wolman for his outstanding contribution to the hospitality and tourism sector.

The 2021 Dignitas Award recipients were Ms Sharmla Chetty, Dr Leila Fourie and Ms Usha Seejarim.

Ms Chetty was recognised for her contribution to leadership development through academic and entrepreneurial excellence; Dr Fourie for her contribution to the finance and banking sector; and Ms Seejarim for her outstanding contribution to the contemporary arts.




Share this

Latest News

All News