Close this search box.

SA science academy recoginses UJ academics

​Two University of Johannesburg (UJ) academics have been elected to the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) as part of 23 new inaugurated members on 13 October 2014.​


The University’s Fanus Viljoen​, a Professor in the Department of Geology and the South African Research Chair in Geometallurgy; and Christian Rogerson, a Professor and Head of Tourism Studies, whom are recognised as among South Africa’s top scholars, were honoured with full ASSAf membership. Through election to membership, ASSAf recognises the scholarly achievements of the individual/s.
ASSAf is the official national academy of science and represents the country in the international community of science academies. As a collective resource, the Academy enables the generation of evidence-based solutions to national problems.
The strategic priorities of the Academy are closely matched to those of the nation, focusing particularly on the need for the greatly enhanced availability of high-level human capital and an increased use of the country’s best intellectual expertise in generating evidence-based policy advice that is practical and feasible. The ASSAf new members this year brings its membership to 445.
Share this