Close this search box.

FNB UJ make light work of defending champions, FNB Shimlas, winning 72-49

​​The score line flatters the FNB Shimlas, who were convincingly outplayed by FNB UJ 72-49 at the FNB Stadium in Soweto on Monday night.

FNB UJ were looking to turn around their poor performance of last week when they met FNB Shimlas at the FNB Stadium on Monday night.

It was an evenly matched first 10 minutes, but then FNB Shimlas broke through to break the deadlock through try-scoring machine Mosolwa Mafuma. It was a nine-point try converted, and FNB Shimlas led 11-0.

But a penalty followed by a nine-point try of their own by FNB UJ, through Divan Nel, put the Johannesburg side ahead 14-11. A seven-point try by David Antoites put FNB UJ 23-11 up after 18 minutes. Another FNB UJ try by Ronald Brown after 28 minutes furthered their lead to 32-11.

FNB UJ scored a nine-point try to move to 43-11, before FNB Shimlas finally got one back. A seven-point try by Arthur Williams pulled the scores back to 43-20.

Although FNB Shimlas managed a seven-point try through Stephan Janse van Rensburg, the FNB UJ steam train was rolling on full steam ahead. The men in orange scored seven tries on the night and although a late surge by FNB Shimlas pulled it back to 72-49, FNB UJ dominated the encounter, beating FNB Shimlas 72-49.

Player That Rocks: Johan Oosthuizen (FNB UJ)



Nine-point tries: Bradley Moolman, Ronald Brown

Seven-point tries: Ronald Brown, Caswell Khoza, David Antonites, Wian Conradie

Five-point tries: Robert De Bruyn

Cons: Divan Nel (6)

Pens: Divan Nel (3)

FNB Shimlas:

Nine-point tries: Mosolwa Mafuma, Boela Venter,

Seven-point tries: Stephan Janse van Rensburg, Arthur Williams, Vuyani Maqina

Cons: Pieter-Steyn de Wet (5)

The teams:


15 Ronald Brown, 14 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 13 Bradley Moolman, 12 Robert De Bruyn, 11 Caswell Khoza, 10 Divan Nel, 9 Devon Mare, 8 Jakobus Porter, 7 Etienne Oosthuizen, 6 Wian Conradie, 5 David Antonites, 4 FP Pelser, 3 Nico Du Plessis, 2 Johannes Snyman, 1 Siyakubonga Nzuzo

16 Emmanuel Morowane, 17 Kyle Kruger, 18 Jeremy Jordaan, 19 Frederik Bezuidenhout, 20 Hilton Mudariki, 21 Peter John Walters, 22 Dominic Kroezen, 23 Waldo Weideman

FNB Shimlas:

15 Renaldo Meyer, 14 Mosolwa Mafuma, 13 Pieter Faber, 12 Arthur Williams, 11 Vuyani Maqina, 10 Pieter-Steyn de Wet, 9 Mthokozisi Mkhabela, 8 Wilhelm Kotzenberg, 7 Neil Claassen, 6 Anrich Alberts, 5 Dennis visser, 4 Ntokoza Vidima, 3 Dolph Botha, 2 Marco Klopper, 1 Thabiso Khanye

16 Elandre Huggett, 17 Teunis Nieuwoudt, 18 Nicolaas Immelman, 19 Boela Venter, 20 Renier Botha, 21 Stephan Janse van Rensburg, 22 Musa Mahlasela, 23 Chase Morison.

*Article originally published on


Share this