UJ rugby team through to the Varsity Cup semi-finals

​The rugby team of the University of Johannesburg (UJ) displayed a splendid performance against Stellenbosch as they beat them 42-16, securing a home semi-final of the Varsity Cup Rugby tournament. On Monday, 28​ March 2016, UJ sealed the round of the Varsity Cup group stages handing Stellenbosch their first defeat of the season.

Game review

Stellenbosch started the match well as winger, Brandon Asher-Wood scored a nine-point try, but UJ fly half, Divan Nel drew his side level after two penalties and a drop goal.​

UJ’s Ronald Brown and captain, Jakobus Porter scored two great tries just before the break as they led 27-9 at half time. FNB Maties were dealt a further blow before half time when centre, Chris Smit was yellow carded for a late tackle.

The UJ rugby team handed a heavy blow to Stellenbosch as they scored two more tires in the second half of the match, through Caswell Khoza and Etienne Oosthuizen to claim a bonus point.

Struggling to come back, Stellenbosch failed to outdo UJ although they managed to get a consolation try through Carlisle Nel just before the match ended.


FNB Maties: 16

Nine-point tries: Brandon Asher-Wood;

Seven-point tries: Carlisle Nel;

FNB UJ: 42

Nine-point tries: Jakobus Porter;

Five-point tries: Ronald Brown, Caswell Khoza, Etienne Oosthuizen;

Cons: Divan Nel (3);

Pens: Divan Nel (3);

Drop Goals: Divan Nel;


FNB Maties:

15 Jason Worral, 14 Brandon Asher-Wood, 13 Kyle Steyn, 12 Chris Smith, 11 Carlisle Nel, 10 Chris Smith, 9 SP Ferreira, 8 Martin Groenewald, 7 Robey Labuschagne, 6 Geor Malan, 5 Justin Moberly, 4 Johan Momsen, 3 Martin Oosthuizen, 2 Freddie Kirsten ©, 1 Wesley Adonis, 16 Craig Corbett, 17 Boeta Kleinhans, 18 Conal Brown, 19 Saud Abrahams, 20 Bjorn Bernardo, 21 Brendon Nell, 22 Carlton Fortune, 23 Derick Marais.


15 Ronald Brown, 14 Peter John Walters,13 Bradley Moolman, 12 Robert de Bruyn, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Divan Nel, 9 Devon Mare, 8 Jakobus Porter ©, 7 Etiienne Oosthuizen, 6 Wian Conradie, 5 David Antonites, 4 FP Pelser, 3 Nico du Plessis, 2 Johannes Snyman, 1 Nzuzo Siyakubonga, 16 Emmanuel Morowane, 17 Kyle Kruger, 18 Jeremy Jordan, 19 Kyle van Dalen, 20 Hilton Mudariki, 21 Caswell Khoza, 22 Kroezen Dominic, 23 Waldo Weideman.​


Share this

Latest News

All News