UJ’s Professor Omotayo Arotiba Elected Chairperson ElectrochemSA

The Electrochemistry Section of the South African Chemical Institute (ElectrochemSA) elected UJ’s Prof Omotayo Arotiba as its new Chairperson, as of April 2018. Prof Arotiba is a Professor in the Department of Applied Chemistry and Director of the Centre for Nanomaterials Science Research at the University of Johannesburg. He is also an NRF-rated researcher and a member of several scientific societies including the Royal Society of Chemistry.

The outgoing Chairperson of ElectrochemSA, Prof Priscilla Baker from the University of the Western Cape, made the announcement during the 4th International Symposium On Electrochemistry. Prof Arotiba was the Chairperson of the local organizing committee for the Symposium, themed “Pure and Applied Electrochemistry”. The symposium was hosted at the University of Johannesburg’s School of Hospitality on 3-5 April 2018.

The opening ceremony was attended by the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Johannesburg, Prof Tshilidzi Marwala, who gave the opening address, and the Executive Dean of Science, Prof Debra Meyer.

Author: Ms. Ofentse Olunloyo

Share this

Latest News

All News