UJ salutes its staff at Long Service Awards

UJ management once again paid homage to staff members who have served the Institution for several years at the annual Long Service Awards.
UJ management once again paid homage to staff members who have served the Institution for several years at the annual Long Service Awards. The event was held on Tuesday, 15 November 2011 at the UJ’s Arts Centre.
Those awarded had served the Institution between twenty and forty years. During this period, the 268 recipients of the awards had spent 2 485 years of service.
Prof Ihron Rensburg, Vice Chancellor and Principal, UJ, thanked the awardees for their continuous support over the years. ”Staff are the most important part of any organisation and this is an opportunity to thank them and celebrate what they have done. This ceremony recognises a broad range of staff and that is really important in a learning community,” said Prof Rensburg.
The Long Service Awards were organised by Nelda Geustyn and Bernice Morris on behalf of UJ Human Resources.
Long Services Recipients:
20 Years of Service / Ms Yolanda Neldine August, Ms Elizabeth Kathleen Block, Prof Hermanus Eduard de Bruyn, Mr Francois Albertus Fouche, Mr Werner Eric Geldenhuys, Ms Nelda Geusteyn, Mr Andrew Gill, Mr Michael Frederick Grobler, Ms Barbara Jacomina Haarhoff, Ms Cecile Kemp, Mr Ramarekiwa Silas Kgoele, Ms Pamela Ruth Kock, Mr Keneth Dumisani Langa , Mr Herbert Leteane, Mr Errol Maboe, Mr Maraofi Moses Machaba, Prof Craig Hugh Mackenzie, Mr Nthompe Lucas Mathabathe, Mr Kenneth Jonny Mavutana, Mr Thembinkosi Emmanuel Mhlongo, Mr Enock Jabulani Mkhonza, Ms Mahlodi Angelina Mnisis, Mr Godfrey Mxolisi Ntebe, Ms Heila Johanna Oosthuizen, Ms Ronel René Ribeiro, Ms Hester Maria Scheepers, Mr Wilson Shivuri, Mr Robert Nicholas Stewart, Ms Helena Susana Stroh, Mr Alson Tshamano, Ms Busisiwe Elizabeth Twala, Ms Susanna Locia van Loggerenberg, Ms Lizette van Zyl, Ms Yvonne Jean Venter, Mr Magiel Vermeulen, Mrs Susanna Gloudina van Tonder, Mr Gert Johannes van Wyk and Prof Hartmut Winkler.
25 Years of Service / Ms Aenchen Brits, Mr Alastair Adair Campbell, Mr Deon Gibhard, Ms Suzette Grace, Mr Petros Hlatshwayo, Mr Key Robert Khanyile, Dr Hellen Evelyn Khoali, Mr Deon Kock, Mr Phindela Alpheus Langa, Mr Mathoka Joseph Lebea, Mr Madimetja Cedrick Ledwaba, Mr Sekgoari Peter Leshaba, Ms Kathleen Loots, Mr Paul Lukhwareni, Mr Daniel Mafoko, Mr Alpheus Matlala, Mr John Mkhize, Mr Bhekamantungwa Mntungwa, Dr Cornel Wynford Mostert, Mr Johnny Ndlovu, Dr Wanda Elizabeth Nel, Mr George Ngwenya, Miss Henda Oosthuizen, Mr Lawrence Stona, Mrs Gertruida Petronella Strauss, Prof André Swart, Ms Hendrina Johanna van Rensburg, Prof Cecilia Jacoba van Zyl-Schalekamp, Mr Kenny Vuma, Mr Anton Frederick Wehmeyer, Mr Sydwell Vuyani Xhobiso, Mr Saziso Nelson Xokomfu and Mr Abraham Zulu.
30 Years of Service / Mr Stephen Bilankulu, Prof Ian Augustus Dubery, Mr Gert Albertus du Preez, Ms Margaretha Elizabeth Ehlers, Mr Derick Christian Eyssen, Prof Deon Johannes Geldenhuys, Prof Johannes Hendrik Janse van Vuren, Mr Mbanzini Elias Maluleke, Ms Catharina Petronella Maritz, Mr Thomas Maswanganyi, Mr Humphrey Mohlakoane, Prof Johanna Berendina Nel, Mr Joel Nkuzana, Prof Johannes Marthinus Otto, Mr Michael Phiri, Prof Marie Poggenpoel, Prof Hester Gertrude Pretorius, Ms Aletta Rakomane, Mr Peter Graham Searle, Mr Thomas Sithole, Prof Sheryl Jane Spowart, Ms Anna-Marie Taylor, Ms Maria Catharina Uys, Mr Panagiotis Lazanas and Prof Hugo Gerthardus van Rooyen.
35 Years of Service / Prof Charles Mathurin Villet and Mr Philemon. Aphane.
40 Years of Service / Prof Ben Hendrickx and Prof Dirk van Reenen.

Prof Hendrickx of UJ’s Department of Greek and Latin Studies joined the then Rand Afrikaans University in 1971 and has not looked back since.“It is definitely a defining moment but it still feels like yesterday when I started at the University,” said Prof Hendrixk who was awarded a knighthood in the Belgian Order of the Crown, in 2011.

King Albert ll of Belgium conferred the title of Kommandeur in de Kroonorde on Prof Hendrikx for his outstanding research and achievements in his field of expertise. His research has extended the boundaries of knowledge that opened up new areas of research for post-graduate students internationally.

In 2008, the President of the Hellenic Republic (Greece), Mr Karolos Papoulias, bestowed the title of Commander in the Legion of Honouron Prof Hendrickx, for his contribution to research on Greek culture and history. This is the highest distinction that the Greek State bestows on intellectuals, who advances the Hellenic Culture.

In 2006, Prof Hendrickx received a B-rating status from the National Research Foundation (NRF) of South Africa. His research output earned him international recognition as he received, among others, the Gold Cross of St Mark (First Class) by the Patriarchate of Alexandria, Egypt in 1983, and in the following year the Belgian Christoffel Plantin Prize for research.


Share this

Latest News

All News