UJ Prem B T20 cricket team crowned 2023 Black Widow champions

The University of Johannesburg’s (UJ) Premier B T20 cricket team won the Black Widow tournament on Tuesday, 04 April 2023, defeating Glenvista in the final.

In the UJ team, youngsters Nick Whitelaw, Ross Murray, Jarred Alder (c), Badal Parag, Ryan Maritz, J.P Coetzee, Ethan Perry (wk), Amogelang Sima, Chris Wymers, Cayden Sunker, Lesedi Mailula, and Declan Osborn stepped up to claim the title. With coach Martin Rathogwa at the helm, UJ bowled first and Glenvista posted 155/8.

In the final, a number of UJ players stood out. Whitelaw had 3 overs, 26 runs, 2 wickets. Wymers had 3 overs, 11 runs, 2 wickets, while Maritz had 3 overs, 22 runs, 1 wicket and Coetzee had 3 overs, 16 runs and 2 wickets.

“It was an amazing turn out; many families came to support the boys and players who didn’t make the team also came support their teammates. The whole UJ coaching staff including our chairman came through, our physio and conditioning trainers came through to make sure our boys are fit and well taken care off. We are happy with the championship,” says UJ senior men’s cricket coach, Siyabonga Sibiya.

Wymers won the Bowler of the Day Award, walking away with a R500 cheque. UJ chased the score in 18.4 overs and only lost 4 wickets.

Whitelaw and Murray opened the batting with Whitelaw having batted to the end and scoring a 52 not out. He won the Batsman of the Day Award and a R1000 cheque.

Other UJ batters contributed positively to claim the championship; Alder scored 16 balls in 15, Maritz 4 in 8, Barag 22 in 20, and Coetzee 39 in 20.


Follow UJ Sport on FacebookTwitter and Instagram for daily updates.

Share this

Latest News

All News