UJ Finance Dean elected as President of the South African Commerce Deans’ Association (SACDA)

​​​​The Executive Dean for the Faculty of Economic and Financial Sciences at the University of Johannesburg (UJ), Professor Amanda Dempsey has been elected as the 4th President and Chairperson of the South African Commerce Deans’ Association (SACDA).​

​​​SACDA is an important forum through which leaders express their views as a collective on fundamental matters relating to commerce education.

​​“It’s an honour that my peers think I can be at the forefront of this kind of leadership. I’ve been a dean for 8 years (at UJ) and I think I’m ready to take up this responsibility. I look forward to it,” said Prof Dempsey. ​


​Professor Dempsey is also a member of the Finance Committee of UJ. She has served on a number of committees at South African Institute of Chartered Accountants (SAICA). These include the committee that assesses the SAICA accreditation of universities. In 2003 she was appointed as project manager for the tertiary part of SAICA’s Thuthuka Project for the University of Fort Hare, University of Limpopo and UJ.​

She has published and presented papers at both national and international conferences and acted as study leader for post graduate students. She is the author of two textbooks, namely Introduction to Financial Accounting and Introduction to Financial Accounting: Questions and Answers. These two textbooks are published in Afrikaans and English and are prescribed at a number of tertiary institutions.

​SACDA was established in October 2008 through a resolution by deans of faculties, colleges, and schools of commerce gathered at the University of Pretoria. The members of the association meet and discuss commerce-related matters and informally engage with their respective institutions.

​The Faculty of Economic and Financial Sciences at UJ is the one of the largest faculties at the institution, hosting approximately 20% of enrolled students. The programmes offered by the Faculty are organised within four departments, each with a unique focus.


Share this

Latest News

All News