UJ celebrates excellence with 2021 Vice-Chancellor’s Distinguished Awards

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]The University of Johannesburg (UJ) has recognised the outstanding contributions of the University’s leaders in research, teaching and learning at the 2021 Vice-Chancellor Distinguished Awards, on Thursday evening, 18 November 2021, following their outstanding performances for the year.

Ten academics and one support services staff received the Vice-Chancellor’s Distinguished Awards. The annual awards acknowledged the quality of innovation and excellence in education and research during one of the most challenging years of the Covid-19 pandemic.

UJ’s Vice-Chancellor and Principal Prof Tshilidzi Marwala said despite 2021 being a challenging year, it was important to recognise and celebrate what has been accomplished.

“To acknowledge the quality of what has been achieved through these awards is part of a broader recognition of superlative efforts of staff,” he said.

“These achievements epitomise the talent and potential of our University, you are the best amongst the best as it was not easy to come up with the list,” concluded Prof Marwala.

Full list of award recipients:

  • The ‘Most Promising Young Teacher of The Year’ award went to Dr Gcobani Qambela (Faculty of Humanities), and Dr Phumulani Msomi (Faculty of Law). 
  • Teacher Excellence award was presented to Prof Maritha Pritchard (Faculty of Humanities); Prof Shepard Dhliwayo (College of Business and Economics) and Prof Habib Noorbhai (Faculty of Health Sciences)
  • Most Promising Young Researcher of the Year went to Prof Oluwafemi Adebo (Faculty of Science)
  • Outstanding Researcher of the Year was bestowed to Prof Omotayo Arotiba (Faculty of Science)
  • Innovation of the Year was bestowed to Prof Talitha Greyling (College of Business and Economics)
  • Book of the Year was awarded to Prof Alex Broadbent (Faculty of Humanities)
  • Highest Cited Researcher was bestowed to Prof Michael R Hamblin (Faculty of Health Sciences)
  • Service Beyond the Normal Call of Duty went to Mr Martin Marubini Siluthanyi (Operations)

 See previous winners

View the programme here[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Share this

Latest News

All News