UJ athletes hope to add more medals to Team SA tally in Rio Olympics

Let’s Go Rio 2016 – #UJAllTheWay

Three athletes from the University of Johannesburg (UJ) in Team SA are yet to compete in the 2016 Rio Olympics in Brazil, hoping to win more medals for the South African side. Ruswahl Samaai, Anel Oosthuizen and Lynique Prinsloo are the UJ hopefuls to boost Team SA, which already had a total of four medals (3 silver and 1 bronze) in the Olympics by Thursday 11th.

Team SA is one of the competitors with balanced team numbers in the 2016 Rio Olympics in Brazil. The medal recipients in the SA squad thus far are Chad Le Clos (silver: swimming), Shaun Keeling and Lawrence Brittain (silver x 2: rowing pair), and Cameron Van Der Burgh (bronze swimming).

Competition is stiff in the Olympics, by Thursday 11th, the USA (38 medals – 16 Gold), China (30 – 11 Gold), and Japan (22 – 7 Gold) were some of the leading giants in the Games. While South Africa will be watching Team SA perform in the various sporting codes, the UJ athletes are set to showcase their talents in South America.

Here is the performance schedule for the UJ athletes competing in the Rio Olympics:


Lynique Prinsloo – Long Jump

Qualifications – Wed, 17 Aug, 2:05 AM

Final – Thu, 18 Aug, 2:15 AM

Anel Oosthuizen – Race walking (20 km walk)

Fri, 19 Aug, 7:30 PM

Ruswahl Samaai – Long Jump

Qualifications – Sat, 13 Aug, 2:20 AM

Final – Sun, 14 Aug, 1:53 AM


Alyssa Conley – 100 m

Preliminary –Today, 14:55 – 15:09 PM

Round 1 – Sat, 13 Aug, 3:40 AM – Sat, 13 Aug, 4:29 AM

Semi-Finals – Sun, 14 Aug, 2:00 AM – Sun, 14 Aug, 2:14 AM

Final – Sun, 14 Aug, 3:37 AM –


200 m

Round 1 – Mon, 15 Aug, 2:35 PM – 13:15PM

Semi – Finals – Wed, 17 Aug, 3:00 AM – Wed, 17 Aug, 3:16 AM

Final – Thu, 18 Aug, 3:30 AM

Amanda Dlamini – Women’s Football (knocked out in group stages)

Simone Conley – u23 Men’s Football (Technical Team) – (Knocked out in group stages)

Kirsten McCann – Women’s Rowing

Kate Christowitz – Women’s Rowing

Today, 4:06 PM

Micheen Thorwncroft (Zimbabwe) – Women’s Rowing

Peter Lambert (Great Britain) – Men’s Rowing


Participating and winning in the Olympics is a big achievement on its own, but getting a reward from the Ministry of Sport when the athletes return with medals is an added bonus.

All medallists at both Olympic and Paralympic Games will receive incentives as follows:

Individual medal winner:

Athlete Coach

Gold: R500 000 R400 000 R100 000

Silver: R250 000 R200 000 R50 000

Bronze: R100 000 R 80 000 R20 000


Team events and Relay event winners:

In the case a medal is won by a team event or a relay team which counts as one medal, the incentive amount will also be as follows:

Athlete Coach

Gold: R500 000 R400 000 R100 000

Silver: R250 000 R200 000 R50 000

Bronze: R100 000 R80 000 R20 000


Team SA comprises athletes that will compete in the following sporting codes: Aquatics, Athletics; Khotso Mokoena (UJ alumnus), Badminton, Canoeing, Cycling, Equestrian, Football (Women: Amanda Dlamini), Golf, Gymnastics, Judo, Rowing (Women, Kirsten McCann), Rugby sevens, Sailing, and Triathlon.

UJ Rio Team: Current and former students’ academic information:

Student Course Comment
Lynique Prinsloo BEd Senior Phase Teaching
Anel Oosthuizen BEd Foundation Phase Teaching Student Athlete of the Year 2015

17 Distinctions over 2.5 year

Ruswahl Samaai Diploma Transportation Management


Alumni Course Comment
Alyssa Conley BA Honours in Sport Science Obtained qualification 2012

A total of 19 distinction for duration of studies (including two distinctions in honours year)

Amanda Dlamini Diploma in Road Transportation Obtained qualification in 2013
Simone Conley MPhil Biokinetics Obtained qualification 2014

A total of 45 distinctions for duration of studies

Kirsten McCann BSc Life and Environmental Science Obtained qualification 2013
Kate Christowitz BA Sport Science Obtained qualification 2014
Micheen Thorwncroft Postgrad Certificate in Education Obtained qualification in 2011

A total of 3 distinctions

Peter Lambert BA Honours Marketing Communication Obtained qualification in 2009


Lynique Prinsloo
Lynique Prinsloo



Anel Oosthuizen
Anel Oosthuizen
Share this

Latest News

All News