Close this search box.

Prof Saurabh Sinha awarded a Joint Distinguished Volunteer Award by SAIEE-IEEE

The South African Institute of Electrical Engineers and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (SAIEE–IEEE) awarded a Joint Distinguished Volunteer Award to Prof Saurabh Sinha for his contribution to the electrical/electronic engineering profession in South Africa.

Prof Sinha, the Executive Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment (FEBE) at the University of Johannesburg (UJ), was acknowledged for promoting the spirit of volunteerism. Each recognised winner is honoured for making or having made a valuable contribution to the electrical/electronic engineering field in South Africa and promoting the profession nationally. The winners have to be people who meaningfully contribute solutions to the social challenges in South Africa through the application of electrical/ electronic engineering.

Says Prof Sinha: “It is with much appreciation to the SAIEE and IEEE South Africa Section for presenting the Joint Award with National Societies (JANS) to me. I am honoured to receive this award in 2017! Thanks to the leadership of SAIEE, President Jacob Machinjike, encouragement of SAIEE staff and volunteers; Dr Albert Lysko who is the 2017-2018 IEEE South Africa Section Chair, and Sy Gourrah who is the 2017 Junior Vice-President and an incoming SAIEE President in 2021. Thanks to Prof Sunil Maharaj, Dean: Faculty of Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology (EBIT), University of Pretoria, South Africa, for nominating me.”

The SAIEE and IEEE are both distinguished professional societies which started in 1909 and 1884 (IEEE’s founding organisation, the AIEE). The organisations cooperate through a national society agreement.

Share this