Close this search box.

Physicist elected as a member of ASSAf

Prof Andre Strydom from the Department of Physics has been elected as a member of the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf). Prof Strydom will represent UJ on the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET) publication subsidy evaluation panel.

ASSAf is a self-perpetuating organisation in which new Members are elected every year by the full existing Membership in order to achieve the goals of the Academy. The key objective of the Academy is to promote and apply scientific thinking in the service of society. The normal criterion for election is significant achievement in the advancement or application of science, and, in addition, Members should be persons who can be expected to assist the Academy in achieving its objectives. ASSAf has 445 Members.

Share this

Latest News

All News