Close this search box.

Excellence Awards Conferred at Faculty Year-End Function

The Faculty of Science held its 2016 year-end function where academic staff were applauded for their outstanding contributions in key focus areas of the Faculty: Research, Teaching and Learning, as well as Community Engagement.

Prof André Strydom won the award for the Best Research Professor in the Faculty for 2015, based on his exceptional publications output, all in high quality journals, and the Professor/Associate Professor Award went to chemistry professor, Reinout Meijboom.

Promoted to associate professorship in October 2016, it was Prof Jayne Rogerson from the Department of Geography, Environmental Management and Energy Studies who took the Senior Lecturer / Lecturer Award.

This year’s Teaching & Learning Excellence Award went to Academy of Computer Science & Software Engineering Senior Lecturer, Dr Wai Szi Leung, and the runner-up was Mrs Chantel Duncan, a lecturer of Pure Mathematics.

Dr Buyi Sondezi received the Faculty Community Engagement Award, based on her outreach activities and events hosted to promote Physics to the youth.

Share this

Latest News

All News