UJ Sport Senior Director, Nomsa Mahlangu elected FASU President

​The Senior Director of the University of Johannesburg (UJ) Sport, Ms Nomsa Mahlangu, is the new President of the Federation of Africa University Sports (FASU) – the first female to hold the position.

She will lead the new Executive Committee of FASU with the assistance of Ugandans Ms Peninah Kabenge as the General Secretary and Ms Mercy Lakisa as a Student Representative. In her career, Ms Mahlangu played a pivotal role in various leadership positions such as Board Member of the FIFA World Cup 2010, AFCON 2013 and CHAN, as well as the South African Football Association NEC Member and the Chairperson of the OC African Woman’s Championship (AWC) 2010, among other roles.

“This is an exciting time for women across the continent. It’s actually testimony that hard work yields results. I hope this opportunity propels other women to believe in their dreams and ensure that they become a reality,” says Ms Mahlangu.

Prior to joining UJ, Ms Mahlangu was previously Head of Department of Sport Administration at the Durban University of Technology and Sport Manager at University of the Free State. She holds a BA Honours degree in Human Movement Science and a degree in Bachelor of Leisure Sciences: Event and Facility Management from the University of the Free State.

She has completed various courses and certificates in sport from the National Sport Council; the Free State Sports Academy; the Fluminese Academy in Brazil and Pretoria Technikon.

She served as the Head of Delegation for Team SA Universiade Kazan 2013, a team that won the most medals in the history of South African student sport, 14 medals to be exact, and has represented South African Students in the Federation Internationale Du Sport congress in Italy in 1997, and in Sweden in 1998. In 2009 Ms Mahlangu was the first woman to be ever elected in the SAFA executive committee which led to more women being elected in the next election. She is the recipient of the 2011 CEO Magazine MIW Award Winner and the 2011 Nominee Administrator of the Year SA Sport Award.


Share this

Latest News

All News