Close this search box.

UJ honoured at 2023 SAICA Chairman’s Difference Makers Awards

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]The University of Johannesburg is proud to announce the remarkable achievements of three esteemed staff members who received awards at the prestigious 2023 SAICA Chairman’s Difference Makers Awards, held on Thursday, 25 May 2023. These awards, known for celebrating individuals who bridge the gap between being good and being excellent, honour SAICA members and associates who make a valuable contribution to communities, economies, and society while upholding the highest standards of ethics and accountability.

Prof Amanda Dempsey wins Academia and Education category 

Prof Amanda Dempsey, Senior Director of the UJ School of Accounting, was announced as the winner of the Academia and Education category at the SAICA Chairman’s Difference Makers Awards. This category recognises individuals who have made a tangible impact on educating future members of SAICA, emphasizing the importance of knowledge and the pursuit of learning. Prof Dempsey’s passion and dedication for education truly embody these principles, and we are immensely proud to have her as part of our team.

UJ’s Head of the Department of Accountancy, Prof Ben Marx was also the Academia and Education category winner at the 2022 awards function, and this is testimony to the commitment of UJ towards making a societal impact in the accounting education sector.

Ms Nolwazi Mamorare receives Finance Leader award

Ms Nolwazi Mamorare, Chief Financial Officer of UJ, was recognised in the Finance Leader category. This prestigious award acknowledges CFOs and leaders in finance who inspire and develop others to be great. Ms Mamorare’s leadership, influence, and commitment to making a tangible impact have truly set her apart. We commend her for her exceptional achievements and the positive influence she brings to the UJ community.

Prof Linda de Beer recognised in Leadership and Governance category

Another esteemed member of UJ’s team, Prof Linda de Beer, Professor of Practice at the UJ School of Accounting, was honoured in the Leadership and Governance category. Prof de Beer’s dedication to promoting sound governance principles has not only enhanced the organisations she has served but has also set a benchmark for excellence in governance. Her exemplary work showcases UJ’s commitment to nurturing leaders who prioritise strong governance practices.

UJ’s dedication to excellence and positive change

These remarkable achievements at the 2023 SAICA Chairman’s Difference Makers Awards highlight UJ’s continued dedication to fostering excellence and driving positive change. Through the exemplary contributions of Prof Amanda Dempsey, Ms Nolwazi Mamorare, and Prof Linda de Beer, UJ’s reputation as leaders in accounting education is further reinforced. The university takes pride in their accomplishments and looks forward to continued success in shaping communities, economies, and society with unwavering ethics, integrity, and accountability.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Share this