UJ celebrates academic excellence with 2015 Academic Excellence Awards

​​​​​​​​​​On Monday, 25 April 2016, the University of Johannesburg (UJ) celebrated residence students at the 2015 Academic Excellence Awards – with Gauta Residence, located at the Doornfontein Campus (DFC), crowned the overall outshining performers for 2015.

Dr Charlotte Scholtz is the UJ Netball team’s Manager, she is also a House-Wardens that coordinated the event. “For these Awards, the top three students in a degreed programme and the top three students in a diploma programme were honoured,” she clarified. “A decision was also made to acknowledge the academic prowess of the residence-leadership (house-committees) for the first time, this year,” concluded Dr Scholtz.

The Awards included all 35 residences at the four UJ campuses, with three categories for residence trophies: Best Performing Residence per Campus; Most Improved Residence; and Best Overall Performing Residence.

The residence success rate is calculated based on the number of modules that the students of a particular residence passed out of the total number of modules they were registered for in 2015; i.e. if a residence’s students were registered for 100 modules and they passed 80 of those modules, the success rate of the residence is 80%.

The winners of the 2015 Academic Excellence Awards in UJ residences were:

Best performing residence per campus

APK – Lebone

APB – Ndlovukazi

DFC – Gauta

SWC – Hector Pietersen

Most improved residence

DFC – Akananani

House Committee Top Achievers in a degree programme

2nd runner up: A Twala (Kilimanjaro)

1st runner up: MC Phahlalakala (Afslaan)

Top Achiever: JA Pretorius (Afslaan)

House Committee Top Achievers in a diploma programme

2nd runner up: S Nkabinde (YWCA)

1st runner up: K Mogotlane (Pishon of Soweto)

Top Achiever: R Ndlovu (Horison)

Best overall performing residences:

3rd place – Lebone (APK)

2nd place – Phumlani (DFC)

1st place – Gauta (DFC)

Top overall House Committee achievers

2nd runner up: K Mogolane (Pishon of Soweto)

1st runner up: JA Pretorius (Afslaan)

Top achiever: R Ndlovu (Horison)​

Share this

Latest News

All News