UJ at it again, wins 1st Varsity Football match against NWU

Football is a winning language at the University of Johannesburg (UJ). Since taking part in Varsity Football two seasons ago, UJ has lost only one final match to Tuks in 2014. In the opening match of the Varsity Football match against North West University (NWU) on Monday, 18 July 2016, UJ emerged the biggest winners, beating NWU 6-2.

With confidence in the UJ team, the Johannesburg side dominated the second half of the game.

In what started as a hotly contested match between the two comebacks in the tournament, supporters were cheering with invigorated cheerfulness in the first few minutes of the game. But the supporters’ energy slowly dissipated as UJ kept knocking in the goals.

NWU-Mafikeng drew first blood early on off their first corner when David Ngwenya headed in, but UJ soon drew level thanks to a Matthew Edwards header, also resulting from a corner. NWU-Mafikeng were back in front after 27 minutes thanks to another corner headered in by Thapelo Tlabakwe. But after that, in a moment of madness, the ball was passed back to NWU-Mafikeng goalkeeper Amogelang Maduo and bobbled over his foot as it reached him, ending in the back of the net. It was 2-2 at the break.

In the second half UJ came out firing and punished a poor NWU-Mafikeng defence. The goals rained in as the match ended 6-2 in favour of Mandla Zwane’s men.

Also bagging the crowd-favorite FNB Man of the Match award, was Tebogo Mandyu.

FNB Man of the Match: Tebogo Mandyu (UJ)



Matthew Edwards (2)

Tshepo Makgopela OG

Tshepo Tolo

Emmanuel Ndu

Samuel Warder


David Ngwenya

Thapelo Tlabakwe


NWU-Mafikeng: Amogelang Maduo, Gift Mogorosi, Mojuda Matlhanyane, David Ngwenya, Tshepo Mediro, Sipho Mateis, Tshepo Makgopela, Sandile Mbatha, Orebotse Mongae, Mogomotsi Molefe, Thapelo Tlabakwe

Subs: Luzuko Jevuka, Thabang Makgwane, Tshepo Baholo, Thabisang Maila, Wendelle Martin, Katlego Banda, Vusumuzi Ludwala

UJ: Damaine van der Walt, Ruwell Jagger, Matthew Edwards, Funnynight Sisimogang, Dane Fortuin, Lindani Mazibuko, Omphile Majwafi, Tebogo Mandyu, Tshepo Tolo, Katlego Ntsabeleng, Sbongeleni Gamede

Subs: Mpumelelo Sambo, Emmanuel Ndu, Samuel Warder, Ntokozo Tshabalala, Jared Abrahams, Given Msimango, Sanele Mthethwa


*Article originally written by Phenyo Mokgothu

Share this

Latest News

All News