Close this search box.

Nomfundo Mngomezulu named in South Africa’s Fast5 Netball World Series

Nomfundo Mngomezulu

Nomfundo Mngomezulu’s playing prowess left an impressive mark on coaches and judges who scouted talent during the netball trials held in the City of Tshwane on the first weekend of September 2023. As such, Mngomezulu was named as one of the Fast5 World Series squad members who will compete in the tournament in Christchurch in New Zealand from 11 to 12 November 2023.

After a successful weekend of trials, a total number of twelve male and female players were selected, comprising two non-travelling and 10 travelling players.

“I’m very excited to get this opportunity and honoured to represent my country overseas. This is a chance for me to showcase my talent with the group; it will very special to me because I have not played in Fast5 and in New Zealand.

“What people can expect to see from me and the group is a good game of netball on court. I want to help the team win the series and what’s also important is for us to enjoy the games as we score many goals,” says Mngomezulu.

South Africa won a silver medal in New Zealand in 2022 with Coach Martha Mosoahle-Samm, the first time in the history of the national team.

“Historically, we had the strongest male team to work and with every male’s tournament and trial, we discovered new players who are eager to be selected – this makes it easier for selectors to choose from a large pool of talented individuals,” said Cecilia Molokwane, President: Netball South Africa.

From the trials, the 12-player South African male team was also selected for the upcoming Africa Netball Cup in Botswana, with three non-travelling players.

The team squads:

FAST5 Females

Zandre Smit; Amber Coraizin; Nozipho Ntshangase; Jeanie Sten; Sian Moore; Nomfundo Mngomezulu; Shannen Bartlett; Danielle van Nieuwenhuysen; Tinita van Dyk; Ane Retief; Didintle Keebine (non-travelling); Chantelle Swart (non-travelling).

FAST 5 Males

Shane Labuschange; Riyaaz Lavendal; William Lethoko; Itumeleng Mohanoe; Njabulo Nekhawambe; Vuikle Zulu; Sabelo Sebuyi; Athenkosi Peterson; Kabelo Mahalane; Nico Peters; Zakhele Msimanga (non-travelling); Gontse Mabusela (non-travelling).


Lutendo Maiwashe; Roderick Fredericks; Eugene Sinxesi; Sibongakonka Vava; Gavin Peters; Sibusiso Magwaza; Scelo Gamede; Juan Louis van der Heever; Vladmir Sefala; Edward Manyathela; Fred Damons (non-travelling); Lebohang Kgogome (non-traveling); Sthembiso Zikhali (non-travelling)

Share this