Emerging MTN & UJ Top 10 Artists announced

​The Emerging Artists Portrait Development programme has announced the annual edition of its top 10 finalists and this competition since its launch is fast consolidating its foothold on the continent’s visual exhibition art scene.


The Programme affords young artists the opportunity to showcase their talents and interpretations linked to a given theme relating to MTN and UJ collaborative exhibitions.

The latest iteration – following on Shifting Conversations (2017), Continuing Conversations (2018), and Conversing the Land (2019) – will be an online documentary project due to the Covid-19 restrictions and will feature a fresh approach to Willem Boshoff’s The Blind Alphabet (1991), made of wood, steel and aluminium, and more specifically forty wooden forms representing the letter B in The Blind Alphabet as part of the extensive MTN Art Collection.

This digital experience is called The Blind Alphabet – Letter B: Barbery to Bigeminate, curated by Annali Cabano-Dempsey, Curator of the University of Johannesburg (UJ) Art Collection, and Niel Nortje, Manager of the MTN Art Collection.

Boshoff’s The Blind Alphabet is an ongoing project transcribing a myriad of complex words into tangible objects to be experienced by the blind and translated to the sighted. Though usually marginalised within society, here the visually challenged are afforded the privileged position.

After noting comments by visually impaired individuals on the outdated nature of the Braille type format, the forty works of the letter B within Boshoff’s The Blind Alphabet now enter the digital age. This online documentary project will form part of MTN Art Collection’s digital art archive to be made available for academic research, as well as teaching and learning opportunities.

The ten finalists include: Lana Combrinck, Neo Diseko, Xanthé Jackson, Miné Kleynhans, Tré Mkhabela, Oratile “Papi” Konopi, Franz Phooko, Alexa Pienaar, Tristan Roland and Selwyn Steyn.

The judges comprise of: Niel Nortjé (MTN), Katlego Lefine (MTN), Annali Cabano-Dempsey (UJ), Mia van Schalkwyk (UJ), and Mpho Mazibuko, Angelique Bougaard and Ndaya Kim Ilunga (three mentees in the current MTN & UJ Mentorship Programme) – were applying the use of innovative and creative ways of multi-disciplinary approaches as a dominant consideration in determining the list of finalists.

According to Cabano-Dempsey “the panel of judges was astounded by the sophisticated and innovative responses to Boshoff’s complex philosophies and physical renderings while simultaneously staying true to their own artistic identity and language”.

“I believe the MTN and UJ partnership’s Emerging Artists Developing Programme not only answers directly to a main objective for both our institutions – which is to offer skills and career development opportunities for our frustrated, unemployed and talented youth – it also allows us, who have worked with the permanent collections of our institutions for many years, an opportunity to continue learning by experiencing the interpretations and work of young artists,” says Niel Nortje.”A fresh eye from an emerging young talent is always extremely appreciated and well received,” he concludes.

The winner of the 2020 Emerging Artists Development Programme will be announced at the opening of the online exhibition and the launch of the UJ Art Gallery’s online platform, Moving Cube, on 4 November.

The artworks by the ten finalists will be exhibited in 2021 alongside the Willem Boshoff artworks as part of an envisaged actual space and time exhibition in the UJ Art Gallery. This online documentary project was made possible by a generous sponsorship from the MTN SA Foundation and a supporting grant from Business and Arts South Africa (BASA). For more information, contact Annali Cabano-Dempsey at aedempsey@uj.ac.za or Mia van Schalkwyk at miavs@uj.ac.za.

Share this

Latest News

All News